A Boat…Hat

Recently, I have been interested in transforming patterns that I see in the “real world” into knitting motifs. Which explains why I have made myself a boat…hat.

Sea_Stallion
(Here is the Ravelry link)

This hat, based on the Sea Stallion was a lot of fun to knit. Although the yarn is not from Denmark, nor did I think of this hat until after I was back home in New York, I consider this a souvenier from the trip that my sister and I took last year. It reminds me of the warm, sunny, summer day that we spent at the Water, Wind, Og Vikings festival in Roskilde each time that I wear it.

Another knitter who is interested in turning every day sights into works of fiber art is Felicity Ford. I do not have the pleasure of knowing Felix, but I find her KNITSONIK Stranding Colourwork Sourcebook project to be inspiring and hope that others will too.

Leave a Reply

